XVth World Congress of Sociology, Durban,

South Africa, 23-29 July 2006.

RC51 CONFERENCE PROGRAM

MONDAY JULY 24: 13:30 – 15:30

  • Joint Session 1: Sociology and Systems Theory
    Chairs: Jeffrey Alexander (Yale University, USA, jeffrey.alexander@yale.edu), Raf Vanderstraeten (University of Bielefeld, Germany, raf.vanderstraeten@uni-bielefeld.de )

    • Andreas Pickel, Trent University, Canada, apickel@trentu.ca
      After General Systems Theory: Systemic Ontology, Epistemology, and Methodology for the Social Sciences
    • Claudio Baraldi and Laura Gavioli, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italia, cbbp@iol.it
      Interaction Analysis: Towards an Integration Between Social Systems Theory and Conversation Analysis
    • Raf Vanderstraeten, University of Bielefeld, Germany, raf.vanderstraeten@uni-bielefeld.de
      System and Environment: On the Evolution of Modern Society
    • Jeffrey Alexander, Yale University, USA, <jeffrey.alexander@yale.edu>
      Comments to the Papers Presented in the Session: “Sociology and Social Systems Theory”

MONDAY JULY 24: 15:45 – 17:45

  • Joint Session 2: Sociology and Systems Theory
    Chairs: Jeffrey Alexander (Yale University, USA, jeffrey.alexander@yale.edu), Raf Vanderstraeten (University of Bielefeld, Germany, raf.vanderstraeten@uni-bielefeld.de )

    • Michael Paetau, Fraunhofer Institute for Autonomous Intelligent Systems, Germany, paetau@ais.fraunhofer.de
      Niklas Luhmann and Cybernetics
    • Thomas M. Kemple, University of British Columbia, Canada,
      Kemple@interchange.ubc.ca
      Cybernetic Casings and Observational Systems: From Weber to Parsons to Luhmann
    • Wolfgang Hofkirchner, University of Salzburg and Bertalanffy Center for the Study of Systems Science, Austria, Wolfgang.Hofkirchner@sbg.ac.at
      Towards a Post-Luhmannian Social Systems View
    • Zach Johnson, Bernard Scott, Cranfield University, United Kingdom,
      z.johnson@cranfield.ac.uk
      Learning Conversations in Higher Education

MONDAY JULY 24: 18:00 – 20:00

  • Session 3: Sociocybernetic Concepts in Information Society
    Chair: Czeslaw Mesjasz (Cracow University of Economics, Poland, mesjaszc@ae.krakow.pl )
    • Czeslaw Mesjasz, Cracow University of Economics, Poland, mesjaszc@ae.krakow.pl
      The Concept of Self-Reference and Theory of Information Society
    • Lucio Biggiero, L’Aquila University, Italia, biggiero@ec.univaq.it
      System Identity and Autonomy of an International Research Team: A Case Study in Self-Observation
    • Leo M. Semashko, Russia, Public Institute of Strategic Sphere (Tetrasociological) Studies, Russia, semashko4444@mail.admiral.ru
      The Tetrasociological Approach: Six Sociocybernetic Innovations for an Information Society
    • Robert Bichler, Christian Fuchs, Celina Raffl, Advanced Studies and Research in Information and Communication Technologies & Society, Austria, robert.bichler@sbg.ac.at , christian.fuchs@sbg.ac.at , celina.raffl@sbg.ac.at
      Ethics for a Sustainable Information Society

TUESDAY JULY 25: 13:30 – 15.30

  • Roundtable Session 4: Luhmann Applied
    Chair: Soeren Brier (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, sbr.lpf@cbs.dk)

    • Eva Buchinger, ARC systems research, Austria, eva.buchinger@arcs.ac.at
      Practical Relevance of Luhmann’s Social System Theory: Governance of Autopoietic Social Systems
    • Erkki Sevänen, University of Joensuu, Finland, erkki.sevanen@joensuu.fi
      Niklas Luhmann and Critical Theory: Non-Critical System Theory vs. Critical Systemic Sociology?
    • Vessela Misheva, Uppsala University, Sweden, Vessela.Misheva@soc.uu.se
      Sociological Systems Theory and its Philosophical Problems: The Theory of Medium from Kant to Heider and Luhmann
    • Lars Qvortrup, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark,
      larsq@knowledgelab.sdu.dk
      The Concept of “Knowledge” in the Knowledge Society and Religion as 4th Order Knowledge
    • Soeren Brier, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, sbr.lpf@cbs.dk
      The Missing Person Problems in Reflecting Luhmannian Empirical Systemic Research Results: Back into a Democratic Society of Embodied, Juridical, Political and Ethical Responsible Subjects
    • Morten Knudsen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, mk.ioa@cbs.dk
      Autolysis – An Operation-Analytical Observation of ”Noise out of Order”
    • Ole Thyssen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, ot.lpf@cbs.dk
      The Three Tempi of Globalisation

TUESDAY JULY 25: 15.45 – 17:45

  • Session 5: Participatory Sustainable Development
    Chair: Philippos Nicolopoulos (University of Crete and University of Indianapolis, Athens Campus, Greece, <nicolop@otenet.gr>

    • Philippos Nicolopoulos, University of Crete and University of Indianapolis, Athens Campus, Greece, <mailto:nicolop@otenet.gr>
      INTRODUCTION: Sustainable Touristic Development in Rural Areas: The Issue of Carrying Capacity and Applications of Systems Theory
    • Cestmir Halbich, Czech University of Agriculture, Czech Republic, <halbich@pef.czu.cz>)
      Participatory Sustainable Development in Rural Areas: Case Study – Internet in the Czech Countryside
    • Jorge A. González, LabCOMplex-UNAM- México, Jorge@labcomplex.net
      Research and Development of Cyberculture@ in Displaced Communities
    • Sonja Treven, Matja_ Mulej, University of Maribor, Slovenia, mulej@uni-mb.si
      Systemic Approach to the Encouragement of Innovativeness Through Employee Diversity Management

TUESDAY JULY 25: 18:00 - 20:00

  • Session 6: Applications of Sociocybernetics
    Chair: Danièle Bourcier
    (Centre d’etudes et de recherches science administrative, France, bourcier@cmb.hu-berlin.de)

    • Karl-Heinz Simon, University of Kassel, Germany, simon@usf.uni-kassel.de
      Transitions Management – An Issue for Sociocybernetics?
    • Jane Davis, North Carolina A&T State University, USA, janeds@ncat.edu
      A New Theory: The Nonlinear Dynamic Theory of Teaching and Learning
    • Jose A. Amozurrutia, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico, amoz@labcomplex.net
      Sociocybernetics Applied in Cultural Activity Analysis
    • Francisco Parra-Luna, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain,
      parraluna@cps.ucm.es
      Cervantes’ Novel Don Quixote as a System: The Emergence of the “Place of La Mancha”

WEDNESDAY JULY 26: 13:30 – 15:30

  • Portuguese Session 7: Equality and Inequality
    Chair: Manuel Lisboa
    (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal, m.lisboa@fcsh.unl.pt)

    • Manuel Lisboa, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal, m.lisboa@fcsh.unl.pt
      Desigualdade de género e teoria da acção social - o público e o privado no caso português
    • Marzia Grassi, University of Lisbon, Portugal, marzia.grassi@ics.ul.pt
      Género, Economia informal e transnacionalismo em contextos multiculturais: Cabo Verde, Angola e países da diáspora
    • Armando de Melo Lisboa, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brasil, alisboa@matrix.com.br
      A construção da identidade: caminho para superação da desigualdade
    • Maria José Arthur, WLSA Mozambique, chico@tropical.co.mz
      Between Law and Social Morals: the functioning of the Advice Bureau for Women and Children victims of domestic violence

WEDNESDAY JULY 26: 15:45 – 17:45

  • Spanish Session 8: Social Capital and Social Networks
    Chairs: Juan D. Gomez Quintero (University of Zaragoza, Spain, jdgomez@unizar.es), Chaime Marcuello-Servós (University of Zaragoza, Spain, chaime@unizar.es), Dario Menanteau-Horta (University of Minnesota, USA, dmenante@umn.edu)

    • Antonio Eito Mateo, University of Zaragoza, Spain, antoni@unizar.es
      Inmigración, integración y capital social: El caso de la Ciudad de Huesca
      (presence not confirmed)
    • Margarita Maass Moreno, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico, maass@labcomplex.net
      Análisis del volumen y composición social del capital de tres generaciones de mexicanos del siglo XX: Reflexiones de segundo orden desde una metodología sociocibernética
    • Iosu Lizarralde Aiastui, Mondragon Unibertsitatea, Spain,
      <ilizarra@eteo.mondragon.edu>
      Building up an Entrepreneurial Region by Means of Social Capital

WEDNESDAY JULY 26: 18:00 – 20:00

  • Session 9: Sociocybernetics and Cyberethics
    Chair: Vessela Misheva
    (Uppsala University, Sweden, Vessela.Misheva@soc.uu.se)

    • Diane Laflamme, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
      ad.laflamme@sympatico.ca
      The Emergence of Ethical Programmes and Moral Conditionings in Meaning-Constituting Systems
    • Christopher Kindblad, University of Halmstad, Sweden
      christopher.kindblad@hos.hh.se
      The Importance of the Moravian Ethics for the Miskitu Culture: A Matriztic Perspective on the Role of Emotions in Cultural Change
    • Barry Gibson, King's College London, United Kingdom, barry.gibson@kcl.ac.uk
      The Codification of quality of life in medicine and dentistry: a systems theoretical study
    • Louis Klein and Alexander Kiehne, Systemic Consulting Group, Germany, Louis.Klein@scgroup.de
      Being a Post-modern Organisation

THURSDAY JULY 27: 13:30 – 15.30

  • Special Topic Session 10:
    The System of Mass Media and Social Transformation
    Chairs: Juan M. Aguado
    (Universidad de Murcia, Spain, jmaguado@um.es), Vessela Misheva (Uppsala University, Sweden, Vessela.Misheva@soc.uu.se)

    • Vessela Misheva, Uppsala University, Sweden, Vessela.Misheva@soc.uu.se
      The Mass Media as a Social System
    • Isabel Kusche, University of Bielefeld, Germany, isabel.kusche@uni-bielefeld.de
      Media Democracy as Description of the Relation Between Media and Politics: Self-observation of the Media System and its Consequences
    • Bob Hodge, University of Western Sydney, Australia, b.hodge@uws.edu.au
      Foucault's Discursive Machine and the Cybernetics of Truth
    • Juan Miguel Aguado, Universidad de Murcia, Spain, jmaguado@um.es
      Self-observation, Self-reference and Operational Coupling in Social Systems: Steps Towards a Coherent Epistemology of Mass Media
    • Ana Thereza Nogueira Soares, Catholic University of Minas Gerais, Brazil, anatsoares@gmail.com
      The Information is not Necessary Anymore: The Codes of Mass Media Systems in Brazil

THURSDAY JULY 27: 15:45 – 17:45

  • Session 11: Analyzing and Estimating Feedback Relationships
    Chairs: Han Oud
    (University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands, j.oud@ped.kun.nl, Cor van Dijkum (Utrecht University, The Netherlands, c.vandijkum@fss.uu.nl )

    • Georg P. Mueller, University of Fribourg, Switzerland, Georg.Mueller@unifr.ch
      The Dynamics of Social Inequality as an Iterated Game with Feedbacks on the Payoff-Structure
    • Han Oud, Toni Toharudin, Jaak Billiet, University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands, j.oud@ped.kun.nl
      Three Standard Procedures for Assessing Feedback Relationships in Social Science: A Comparison Illustrated by Ethnocentrism, Individualism and Nationalism in Flanders
    • Kees van Montfort, Frits Bijleveld, Siem-Jan Koopman, Jacques Commandeur, Free University Amsterdam, The Netherlands, kvmontfort@feweb.vu.nl
      Nonlinear and Feedback Time Series Aspects of Road Safety Research
    • Eldad Davidov, Peter Schmidt, Han Oud, University of Basel, Switzerland, e_davidov@gmx.de
      Anomia and Authoritarianism in Germany: Analyzing Feedback by Means of an Autoregressive Cross-Lagged Model and a Stochastic Differential Equation Model on Three Wave Panel Data
    • Johannes A. Landsheer, Cor van Dijkum, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands, j.a.landsheer@fss.uu.nl
      Modeling Feedback Relations in the Development of Delinquency During Adolescence and Early Adulthood with an Auto-regressive Growth Curve

THURSDAY JULY 27: 18:00 – 20:00

  • Joint Session Session 12: Causality Revised
    Chairs: Cor van Dijkum
    (Utrecht University, The Netherlands, <c.vandijkum@fss.uu.nl> ) Hans van der Zouwen (Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands, j.van.der.zouwen@fsw.vu.nl)

    • Cor van Dijkum, Utrecht University, The Netherlands, <c.vandijkum@fss.uu.nl>
      Causality in the Social Sciences Revised: A Short History and Outlook to the Future
    • Johannes van der Zouwen, Johannes H. Smit, Free University, of Amsterdam, The Netherlands, j.van.der.zouwen@fsw.vu.nl
      Bidirectional Causality in Methods Research of Interviews with Standardized Questionnaires: Anticipation and Repair as Sources of Interviewer Effects
    • Loet Leydesdorff, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands, loet@leydesdorff.net
      Modelling Anticipation, Codification, and Husserl’s Horizon of Meanings
    • David Byrne, Durham University, United Kingdom, dave.byrne@durham.ac.uk
      What is an effect?

FRIDAY JULY 28: 13:30 –15.30

  • Session 13 Causes and Consequences of Innovation
    Chairs: Matjaz Mulej
    (University of Maribor, Slovenia, mulej@uni-mb.si), Eva Buchinger (ARC systems research, Austria, eva.buchinger@arcs.ac.at)

    • Eva Buchinger, ARC systems research, Austria, eva.buchinger@arcs.ac.at
      Public Governance of Innovation: From Legal to Monetary to Knowledge-based Policy Instruments
    • Vojko Potocan, Matjaz Mulej, University of Maribor, Slovenia, mulej@uni-mb.si
      Systemic Understanding of Trust and Ethics of Interdependence in Innovative Business
    • Chaime Marcuello-Servós, University of Zaragoza, Spain, chaime@posta.unizar.es
      The 3rd Generation Innovation Policy of the European Union: A Critical and Systemic Reading (presence not confirmed)
    • MatjaÏ Mulej, Zdenka Îenko, Vojko Potoãan, Nastja Mulej, University of Maribor, Slovenia, mulej@uni-mb.si
      The Capacity of Companies to Absorb Suggestions from Government: The Case of Inventions of Research Organizations in Europe, e.g. in Slovenia
    • Gerald Steiner, University of Graz, Austria, gerald.steiner@uni-graz.at
      Innovative Performance of Organizations in Dependency on Workplace and Interior Design

FRIDAY JULY 28: 15:45 – 17:45

  • Session 14: Advances in Sociocybernetics I
    Chair: Bernard Scott
    (Royal Military College of Science, Cranfield University, UK,
    B.C.E.Scott@cranfield.ac.uk

    • Daniel F.M. Strauss, University of the Free State, South Africa, <dfms@cknet.co.za>
      The Basic Concepts of Sociology Involved in System Theory
    • Hellmut Löckenhoff, Research Consulting, Germany, Loeckenhoff.HellK@t-online.de
      Transdisciplinarity Grounding Transcultural Dialogue: An Approach to Intercultural Discourse
    • Felix Geyer, Laren, The Netherlands, geyer@xs4all.nl
      The “War on Terror” and “The Future of an Illusion”: Regression to Fundamentalist Religion as an Inadequate Defense Against Growing Complexity ===> 15
    • Janet McIntyre, Flinders University, Australia, janet.mcintyre@flinders.edu.au
      Healing Pathways - Rescuing the Enlightenment from Itself: Implications for Addressing Democracy Through Improved Collaboration and Knowlledge Management


FRIDAY JULY 28: 18:00 – 20:00

  • Session 15: Advances in Sociocybernetics II
    Chair: Marie-Noelle Sarget
    (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, France, Marie-Noelle.Sarget@ehess.fr)

    • Marie-Noelle Sarget, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, France, Marie-Noelle.Sarget@ehess.fr
      Systemic Approach of Art: The Example of Painting
    • Bernd R. Hornung, University Hospital Giessen and Marburg GmbH, hornung@med.uni-marburg.de
      Bits, Bytes, and Other Distinctions which make a Difference: From the Laws of Form to a Sociocybernetic Concept of Information
    • Kathleen S. Long, OptimaConsulting, USA, Kathy@OptimaConsulting.com
      Dancing With Demons: Pathogenic Problem Solving Systems
    • Lauren Langman, Saher Salod, Loyola University of Chicago, USA
      llang944@aol.com ,
      Papyrus, Paper and the Public Sphere: CMC and the Means of Social Transformation

SATURDAY JULY 29: 13:30 – 15:30

  • Session 16: Emergence in Social Systems and Sociocybernetic Theory
    Chairs: Bernd R. Hornung
    (University Hospital Giessen and Marburg GmbH, hornung@med.uni-marburg.de), Francisco Parra-Luna (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain, parraluna@cps.ucm.es)

    • Ken Bailey, UCLA, USA, Kbailey@soc.ucla.edu
      A Typology of Emergence in Social Systems and Sociocybernetic Theory
    • Dave Elder-Vass, University of London, United Kingdom, mailto:d.eldervass@ntlworld.com
      Emergence and Functionalism: Friends or Foes?
    • Michael Jonas, Institute of Advanced Studies Vienna, Austria, jonas@ihs.ac.at
      Towards an Explanation of Emergence Processes in Regional High-tech Clusters: Development of Structural Complexity vs. Creativity in Situational Practices of Action?
    • J. David Flynn, James Hay, Madeline Lennon, University of Western Ontario, Canada, pdflynn@rogers.com
      The Emergence of Art Systems - Cycles of Change in Art Styles Before and After the Renaissance

 

 

 

 

About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2003 Company Name

x