XVth World Congress of Sociology, Durban,

South Africa, 23-29 July 2006.

PAPERS - list available in alphabetical order.



Juan Miguel Aguado, Universidad de Murcia, Spain
Self-observation, Self-reference and Operational Coupling in Social Systems: Steps Towards a Coherent Epistemology of Mass Media
E-Mail: jmaguado@um.es


Ken Bailey, UCLA, USA
A Typology of Emergence in Social Systems and Sociocybernetic Theory

E-mail: Kbailey@soc.ucla.edu

Robert Bichler, Christian Fuchs, Celina Raffl, Advanced Studies and Research in Information and Communication Technologies & Society, Austria
Co-operative Cyberethics for a Sustainable Information Society

E-Mail: robert.bichler@sbg.ac.at, christian.fuchs@sbg.ac.at, celina.raffl@sbg.ac.at

Søren Brier, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
The Missing Person: Problems in Reflecting Luhmannian Empirical Systemic Research Results: Back into a Democratic Society of Embodied, Juridical, Political and Ethical Responsible Subjects

E-Mail: sbr.lpf@cbs.dk

David Byrne, Durham University, United Kingdom
What is an effect?

E-mail: dave.byrne@durham.ac.uk

J. David Flynn, James Hay and Madeline Lennon, University of Western Ontario, Canada
The Emergence of Art Systems - Cycles of Change in Art Styles Before and After the Renaissance

E-mail: pdflynn@rogers.com

Felix Geyer, Laren, The Netherlands
The “War on Terror” and “The Future of an Illusion”: Regression to Fundamentalist Religion as an Inadequate Defense Against Growing Complexity

E-mail: geyer@xs4all.nl


Wolfgang Hofkirchner, University of Salzburg and Bertalanffy Center for the Study of Systems Science, Austria
Towards a Post-Luhmannian Social Systems View

E-mail: Wolfgang.Hofkirchner@sbg.ac.at

Bernd R. Hornung, University Hospital Giessen and Marburg GmbH
Bits, Bytes, and Other Distinctions which make a Difference: From the Laws of Form to a Sociocybernetic Concept of Information

E-mail: hornung@med.uni-marburg.de

Isabel Kusche, University of Bielefeld, Germany
Media Democracy as Description of the Relation Between Media and Politics: Self-observation of the Media System and its Consequences

E-mail: isabel.kusche@uni-bielefeld.de

Diane Laflamme, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
The Emergence of Ethical Programmes and Moral Conditionings in Meaning-Constituting Systems

E-mail: ad.laflamme@sympatico.ca

Loet Leydesdorff, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Modelling Anticipation, Codification, and Husserl’s Horizon of Meanings
E-mail: loet@leydesdorff.net

Kathleen S. Long, Optima Research Group, Inc., USA
Dancing With Demons: Pathogenic Problem Solving Systems

E-mail: Kathy@OptimaConsulting.com

Pavel O. Luksha (*)
EMOTIONS IN ORGANIZATION: MORE THAN MERE FLUCTUATIONS
email: pavel.luksha@gmail.com

Matjaz Mulej, Zdenka Îenko, Vojko Potocan, Nastja Mulej, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Capacity of Companies to Absorb Suggestions from Government: The Case of Invention from Research Organizations in Europe, e.g. in Slovenia

E-mail: mulej@uni-mb.si

Vojko Potocan, Matjaz Mulej, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Systemic Understanding of Trust and Ethics of Interdependence in Innovative Business

E-mail: mulej@uni-mb.si

Leo M. Semashko, Russia, Public Institute of Strategic Sphere (Tetrasociological) Studies, Russia)
The Tetrasociological Approach: Six Sociocybernetic Innovations for an Information Society

E-mail: semashko4444@mail.admiral.ru

Erkki Sevänen, University of Joensuu, Finland
Niklas Luhmann and Critical Theory: Non-Critical System Theory vs. Critical Systemic Sociology?

E-mail: erkki.sevanen@joensuu.fi

Ana Thereza Nogueira Soares, Catholic University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
The Information is not Necessary Anymore: The Codes of Mass Media Systems in Brazil

E-mail: anatsoares@gmail.com

Lars Qvortrup, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
The Concept of “Knowledge” in the Knowledge Society and Religion as 4th Order Knowledge

E-mail: larsq@knowledgelab.sdu.dk

Gerald Steiner, University of Graz, Austria
Innovative Performance of Organizations in Dependency on Workplace and Interior Design

E-mail: gerald.steiner@uni-graz.at

Ole Thyssen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark,
The Three Tempi of Globalisation
E-mail: ot.lpf@cbs.dk

Johannes Van der Zouwen, Johannes H. Smit, Free University, of Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Stasja Draisma, Free University Medical Centre, Department of Psychiatry, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Bidirectional Causality in Methods Research of Interviews with Standardized Questionnaires: Anticipation and Repair as Sources of Interviewer Effects

E-mail: j.van.der.zouwen@fsw.vu.nl

 

About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2003 Company Name

x