Oliver Kahn International Award 2011

The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, the chairman and the members of the Olivier Kahn Award International Jury are pleased to announce that the laureate of the third Olivier Kahn International Award is Professor Stefano Carretta of the University of Parma.









OKIAOlivier Kahn was a pioneer in Molecular Magnetism, brilliant scientist and teacher, deeply concerned by the promotion of talented young scientists. The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, follows the tradition of the MAGMANet European Network of Excellence which created a prestigious Award bearing his name, the Olivier Kahn International Award, to honour a young scientist who has received his Ph. D. less than ten years ago. The award, an “Olivier Kahn Medal”, designed by La Monnaie de Paris, is accompanied by a prize of 10 000 Euros, to allow the laureate to develop his research and to participate to major international conferences.


The laureate, Prof. Stefano Carretta has made a major contribution to the underlying theory of molecular magnetism. The aim of his research has been twofold: the understanding of fundamental phenomena and the identification of systems suitable for technological applications, especially in the field of quantum computation. Prof. Carretta works in an outstanding team of theorists at the University of Parma and his imagination and ability to communicate very complex ideas are two of his many remarkable skills.


The idea that molecular magnets could be used in quantum computation shows how the field of molecular magnetism is developing. Very recently Prof. Carretta has published calculations that describe how a quantum simulator could function: the paper shows how molecular magnetism could be used to create physical systems and experiments that seemed merely visionary when proposed by Richard Feynman in the 1950s. This contribution is one of many that Prof. Carretta has made, which challenge the experimental scientists in the field to produce the chemistry and physics needed to satisfy his theories.


The international jury delivering the Award selected the laureate among several young brilliant scientists, chemists or physicists, having contributed to the development of molecular magnetism in Europe and having provided the international community with outstanding scientific results. The jury were hugely impressed by the very high standard of the candidates.


The Award was presented to Professor Stefano Carretta at the European Conference on Molecular Magnetism, ECMM 2011, held in Paris, France, on November 22-25 2011 where the laureate presented an invited lecture. (OKIA lecture presentation)


The next Olivier Kahn Award competition, organized in the frame of the European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, will take place in 2013.


The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism (EIMM)

Dante Gatteschi, EIMM Chairman, Professor, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy


The members of the Olivier Kahn International Jury

Roberta Sessoli, Professor, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy

Catalina Ruiz-Pérez, Professor, Universidad de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain

Marius Andruh, Professor, University of Bucharest, Rumania

Bruno Chaudret, Directeur de Recherche, CNRS, Toulouse, France

Jürgen Schnack, Professor, University of Bielefeld, Germany

Richard Winpenny, Professor, University of Manchester, United Kingdom


Contact : 

Consorzio Interuniversitario Nazionale per la Scienza e Tecnologia dei Materiali (INSTM)

Via G. Giusti, 9, I-50121 Firenze, Italy

Tel. +39-055-23387.13 (direct line)


The Olivier Kahn Laureates


Dr. Jose Ramon Galan Mascaros
Dr. Jose Ramon Galan-Mascaros 2008