A European Award For A Doctoral Thesis on Molecular Magnetism

Entries are now being accepted for the fourth “European Award on Molecular Magnetism Doctoral Thesis”.

The award will be given to three young talented researchers in the field of Molecular Magnetism or a closely related discipline. The jury will pay particular attention to the design of novel magnetic molecules and materials, discovery of new phenomena, the application of new technologies or techniques, and important steps that advance our understanding of molecular magnetism. The jury will be composed of four internationally renowned scientists working within the field.


The prize will include 500 Euros towards attendance at an international conference such as the International Conference on Molecule-Based Magnets in Sendai. The successful candidates will also have the opportunity to present their work at the European School on Molecular Nanoscience, ESMolNa 2016, to be held in Spain in October 2016.


Candidates are eligible who submitted a PhD thesis between 1st April 2012 and 30th September 2013.


The application should contain:

1) A three‐page summary of the thesis, underlining the major achievements of the thesis work.

2) A list of the publications obtained from the thesis, including publications that have appeared since the thesis was submitted.

3) A two page CV containing contact details for the applicant.

4) Up to three recommendation letters from the supervisor of the thesis or other scientists involved in the thesis work.

5) A CD containing the electronic version of the thesis and related publications in pdf format. The CD should also contain electronic versions of the items 1) –4) listed above.


Applications should be received by November 30th 2015, and should be clearly marked ADoc-MolMAG on the envelope. They should sent to:

Prof Richard Winpenny

School of Chemistry and Photon Science Institute

The University of Manchester

Oxford Road

Manchester M13 9PL

United Kingdom


Access pdf