Olivier Kahn International Award 2015

Lapo Bogani

The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, the Chairman and the members of the Olivier Kahn Award International Jury are pleased to announce that the laureate of the fifth Olivier Kahn International Award is Dr. Lapo Bogani, Royal Society Research Fellow at the Departement of Materials of Oxford University, United Kingdom.








Olivier Kahn was a pioneer in molecular magnetism, a brilliant scientist and teacher, and deeply committed to the promotion of talented young scientists. The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism follows the tradition of the MAGMANet European Network of Excellence that created a prestigious award bearing his name, the Olivier Kahn International Award, to honour a young scientist who has received his/her Ph. D. within the last 10 years. The award, an “Olivier Kahn Medal”, designed by La Monnaie de Paris, is accompanied by a prize of 5 000 Euros, to allow the laureate to develop his/her research and to participate in major international conferences.

The 2015 laureate, Dr. Lapo Bogani, has made original contributions in the field of single molecule and chain magnets and molecular spintronics. The laureate is now working in the Department of Materials of the University of Oxford, after scientific stays at the University of Florence, Institut Néel, CNRS in Grenoble and University of Stuttgart.

The jury was impressed by the capacity of the laureate of catching quickly the essential features and combining his experience with that of the groups with which he has been collaborating and then of blending chemistry and physical intuition together in order to integrate the field of molecular spins within a more global and original scientific vision. The jury underlines the great inventiveness of the laureate in spotting new phenomena and his ability of finding the best way to study them. Particularly, Dr Lapo Bogani conceived, synthesized, processed and studied successfully new magnetic one-dimensional molecular anisotropic systems and their dynamics. The jury appreciated the extremely versatility and multidisciplinarity of the candidate, his work encompassing synthesis and physical characterizations, photomagnetism, magneto‐optics, ultrafast methods on many kinds of different materials : molecular inorganic nanosystems including lanthanides, carbon nanotubes, graphene … So doing, he has performed brilliant research in Molecular Magnetism and was skilful to raise impressive amounts of money in an european context to reach his scientific goals. His achievements and visions were recognized by the scientific community, in particular in the field of molecular electronics and spintronics, specially in a groundbreaking article coauthored with the laureate of the first Olivier Kahn Award.

The international jury delivering the Award selected the laureate among several young outstanding scientists - chemists and physicists - having contributed actively to the development of molecular magnetism in Europe and having provided the international community with remarkable scientific results. The members of the jury were extremely impressed by the very high standard of the candidates. They wish to the laureate and to all the candidates, full success in the development of their remarkable but challenging projects.

The Award will be presented on the occasion of the European Conference on Molecular Magnetism, ECMM 2015, to be held in Zaragoza, Spain on September 6-10. The laureate will present an invited lecture on this occasion.

The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism (EIMM)

Dante Gatteschi, EIMM Chairman, Professor, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy

The members of the Olivier Kahn International Jury

Stephen Blundell, Professor, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Oxford, United

Kingdom ;

Azzedine Bousseksou, Research Director, Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination, Centre National

de la Recherche Scientifique, Toulouse, France ;

Frank Neese, Professor, Max Planck Institut für Chemische Energiekonversion, Mülheim an der

Ruhr, Germany ;

Spyros Perlepes, Professor, Patras University, Patras, Greece ;

Concepció Rovira Angulo, Research Professor, Institute of Materials Sciences of Barcelona, Consejo

Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Bellaterra, Spain.

Contact :

Consorzio Interuniversitario Nazionale per la Scienza e Tecnologia dei Materiali (INSTM)

Via G. Giusti, 9, I-50121 Firenze, Italy

Tel. +39-055-23387.13 (direct line)

Fax +39-055-2480111

Firenze, July 3rd 2015





The Olivier Kahn Laureates



Dr. Marta Mas-Torrent 2013



Dr. Stefano Carretta 2011


Dr. Jose Ramon Galan Mascaros

Dr. Jose Ramon Galan-Mascaros 2008
Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer 2006