Olivier Kahn International Award 2013

The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, the chairman and the members of the Olivier Kahn Award International Jury are pleased to announce that the laureate of the fourth Olivier Kahn International Award is Dr. Marta Mas-Torrent, of the Materials Science Institute of Barcelona (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas), Spain.




Olivier Kahn was a pioneer in molecular magnetism, a brilliant scientist and teacher, and deeply committed to the promotion of talented young scientists. The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism follows the tradition of the MAGMANet European Network of Excellence that created a prestigious award bearing his name, the Olivier Kahn International Award, to honour a young scientist who has received his/her Ph. D. within the last 10 years. The award, an “Olivier Kahn Medal”, designed by La Monnaie de Paris, is accompanied by a prize of 5 000 Euros, to allow the laureate to develop his/her research and to participate in major international conferences. The 2013 laureate, Dr. Marta Mas-Torrent, has made original contributions in the field of materials science and multifunctional materials. The laureate is working in the very active Department of Molecular Nanoscience and Organic Materials in Barcelona where she developed her own ideas at the interface between chemistry, physics, materials and applied science, from fundamental research to patents, towards technological applications. She successfully transformed organic molecules in readable switchable devices towards use as bits in information storage. The impressive, steady and creative endeavours of the laureate have exploited the fact that molecules can be synthesised in large amounts, tailored for specific applications and can spontaneously selfassemble in more complex structures to process them into original devices. In this way, Dr Marta Mas-Torrent conceived, synthesized, processed and studied successfully new magnetic and conducting molecular systems, selfassembled on surfaces, which can be switched under external stimuli between different states where the molecular magnetic response can be exploited to codify information. Such an exploration of the organic world, from tailored synthesis to useful device, is a valuable contribution to the development of molecular magnetism and related fields.

The international jury delivering the Award selected the laureate among several young brilliant scientists - chemists and physicists - having contributed to the development of molecular magnetism in Europe and having provided the international community with outstanding scientific results. The jury was impressed by the very high standard of the candidates. 

The Award will be presented on the occasion of the European Conference on Molecular Magnetism, ECMM 2013, to be held in Karlsruhe, Germany on October 6-10. The laureate will present an invited lecture on this occasion.

The next Olivier Kahn Award competition, organized in the frame of the European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, will take place in 2015.

The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism (EIMM)



Dante Gatteschi, EIMM Chairman, Professor, Università degli Studi di Firenze,



Florence, Italy



The members of the Olivier Kahn International Jury



Corine Mathonière, Professor, Université de Bordeaux, Bordeaux, France,



Barbara Sieklucka, Professor, Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland



Marco Affronte, Professor, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Modena, Italy



Manuel de Almeida, Senior Coordinating Researcher, Instituto Tecnológico e Nuclear, Lisbon, Portugal



Eric McInnes, Professor, University of Manchester, United Kingdom




Contact :

Consorzio Interuniversitario Nazionale per la Scienza e Tecnologia dei Materiali (INSTM)

Via G. Giusti, 9, I-50121 Firenze, Italy

Tel. +39-055-23387.13 (direct line)

Fax +39-055-2480111

Firenze, August 19th 2013




The Olivier Kahn Laureates


Dr. Stefano Carretta 2011


Dr. Jose Ramon Galan Mascaros

Dr. Jose Ramon Galan-Mascaros 2008